Weekly Wisdom 6.27.17

On my daily commute to work, I have two route options to choose from: Route A is less congested and easy to navigate. It’s a pretty smooth ride. Route B or “The Scary Route” is under construction with uneven lanes and reckless drivers. Each morning, Holy Spirit will gently suggest the best route option that I should take. I don’t have to ask, He just offers the best route. He’s like a built-in google maps for my life – it’s pretty awesome.

Naturally, I want to take Route A, the comfortable, easy route. The lanes are nice and even. No one is trying to take your life on this road. Nine times out of ten, Holy Spirit directs me to take (you guessed it) Route B, “The Scary Route,” and each time I have a choice to make. I can choose listen to Him – The Creator of the universe, the beginning and the end, the one that knows all and is all (you get the idea), or I can choose to disobey God and do what I want to do, and more than likely end up being late or worse.

Each time that I listen to God, I end up arriving safely and early with plenty of time to stop for coffee if I need to, and I think to myself, “Wow, God you were right. You know what you are talking about. It’s like Your God or something.” Oh, how we think we know better. We can totally undervalue God’s sovereignty, wisdom and guidance.

Sometimes the rough road is the best route. The easy way is not always the best way. The road ahead of us may appear to be difficult and maybe it truly is, but if God is leading us in that direction we need to follow. God is good. He’s a good Father. He has our best interest at heart. We can trust Him. He has been God for a long time. He knows what He is doing and He is with us every step of the way.


Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

